leg strength question

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Suchir, Jan 17, 2016.

1. Suchir

Suchir Regular Member

playing badminton
    hi guys I am 14 and I have been playing badminton for 4 years. I weight train for my legs. my question is, is it normal to have a calf imbalance. my raquet leg's calf is slightly larger and stronger than other calf. how do I gain strength without gaining size?

2. Charlie-SWUK

Charlie-SWUK Regular Member

N90 sycophant
    I can't say I'm big on juniors weight training at 14. It's normal to develop a bit of an imbalance. You'll gain some size with strength, but it's unlikely to be considerable/cumbersome.

3. sebZeroToHeroes

sebZeroToHeroes Regular Member

Sports video review platform dev
    Same as Charlie - are you weight training on your own, or is it part of a program monitored by a professional coach?

I've had a slight imbalance myself too - legs and arms. Badminton being an asymmetrical sport, I guess that's expected.
    Maybe you could do ghosting movements while making sure you do symmetrical movements on both sides to make your other leg do a bit more work? Or simply go running / biking regularly :)

4. Suchir

Suchir Regular Member

playing badminton
  5. Vinman

Vinman Regular Member

Nutritionist
    It is completely normal to have one body part bigger and stronger than the other, regardless of the type of sport you are playing, and also completely normal for people who are not active at all.

6. Kikuhito Senshi

Kikuhito Senshi Regular Member

project manager