How to

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Bone1977, Jan 23, 2015.

1. Bone1977

Bone1977 Regular Member

Ta
    Hi guys if any of you have seen my posts i am new to badminton. I am after abit of advice on tactics. The guy i play against is 6ft 5 and a big bloke. He plays alot of defensive clears and as me running to the back of the court alot. I am struggling to get a grip of the games where i feel i am in control. Returning good shots isnt always possible.

I fully understand i am a beginner technique is not going to be of a high quality.

I am just hoping someone can advise a few things to try on which i can practice.

Thanks

2. Charlie-SWUK

Charlie-SWUK Regular Member

N90 sycophant
    It sounds like he's playing defensive clears because he knows he can meet your clears without having to move backward or jump for them, forcing you to move backward.

Have you tried returning with drop shots? Does he just lift? If so, maybe applying more pressure (more smashes and offensive shots) and playing him side to side will force an error.

3. Limited328

Limited328 Regular Member

First, I would recommend watching some how-to videos of how to play badminton.
    It also sounds like you're playing singles, so watching some singles badminton games might help you with shot/return placements.
    Second, practice practice practice.
    Agree with above post by Charlie. Analyze how he plays and find his weakness, maybe his back hand clear isn't top notch.

4. Bone1977

Bone1977 Regular Member

Ta
    I regularly play the drop shot ( i have obviously got to improve technique but its coming). His backhand and mobility are his obvious weaknesses. However being such a big guy he can cover alot of the court he is also fairly fit as we run 15km a week and play football. so if my shots are not spot on he gets advantage.